

THE STATES assembled on Wednesday 18th May 2011, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.40 a.m.) Connétable Michael Keith Jackson – excused attendance (arrived in the Chamber at 11.40 a.m.) Deputy Daniel John Arabin Wimberley of St. Mary – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.38 a.m.)

Prayers

Documents presented or laid

Succession Planning within the States of Jersey Police.

S.R.7/2011.

Presented: 18th May 2011.

Education and Home Affairs Scrutiny Panel.

Notification of lodged propositions

Parish Assemblies: Information Pack (P.60/2011) – second amendment.

Lodged: 18th May 2011.

P.60/2011. Amd.(2)

Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade.

Valerie Band House: therapeutic workshop.

P.80/2011.

Lodged: 18th May 2011.

Deputy G.P. Southern of St. Helier.

Membership of the Privileges and Procedures Committee

In accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 122, the following nomination was made by the Connétable of St. Mary, Chairman of the Privileges and Procedures Committee, for a member who was a member of the Chairmen's Committee –

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson.

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier was nominated by Deputy Michael Roderick Higgins of St. Helier.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a secret ballot, were informed of the following results by the Bailiff –

Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson 33 Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier 17

293 Price code: B

The Bailiff declared that Senator Sarah Craig Ferguson had been duly elected as a member of the Privileges and Procedures Committee.

Economic Affairs Scrutiny Panel – membership

In accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 125(1), the Deputy of Grouville, Chairman of the Economic Affairs Scrutiny Panel, nominated Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier as a member of the Economic Affairs Scrutiny Panel.

There being no further nominations, the Bailiff declared that Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier had been duly elected as a member of the Economic Affairs Scrutiny Panel.

Goods and Services Tax: exemption or zero-rating for foodstuffs, domestic energy and fuel P.36/2011

THE STATES resumed consideration of a proposition of Senator Alan Breckon regarding the exemption or zero-rating for foodstuffs, domestic energy and fuel from Goods and Services Tax (P.36/2011) and rejected a proposition of Senator James Leslie Perchard that, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 84, the matter should be put to the vote.

Members present voted as follows -

POUR: 11 CONTRE: 41 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator T.J. Le Main Senator B.E. Shenton Senator J.L. Perchard Senator B.I. Le Marquand Connétable of Trinity Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. Martin Connétable of St. John Connétable of St. Saviour Connétable of St. Clement

Senator P.F. Routier
Senator P.F.C. Ozouf
Senator F.E. Cohen
Senator A. Breckon
Senator S.C. Ferguson
Senator A.J.H. Maclean
Senator F. du H. Le Gresley
Connétable of St. Ouen
Connétable of St. Helier
Connétable of St. Brelade
Connétable of St. Lawrence
Connétable of St. Mary
Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)
Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Deputy J.B. Fox (H)
Deputy J.A. Martin (H)
Deputy G.P. Southern (H)
Deputy of St. Ouen
Deputy of Grouville
Deputy of St. Peter
Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)
Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H)
Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

Deputy of Trinity

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B) Deputy S. Pitman (H) Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)

Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Deputy of St. John
Deputy M. Tadier (B)
Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
Deputy of St. Mary
Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)
Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)
Deputy E.J. Noel (L)
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)
Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)
Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)
Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H)
Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

THE STATES rejected paragraph (a)(i) of the proposition of Senator Alan Breckon that the following items should be exempted or zero-rated for the purposes of Goods and Services Tax from 1st January 2012 – foodstuffs in line with United Kingdom Value Added Tax arrangements.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 22 CONTRE: 29 ABSTAIN: 2

Senator B.E. Shenton Senator A. Breckon Senator B.I. Le Marquand Connétable of St. Helier Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S) Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Deputy of Grouville Deputy of St. Peter Deputy J.A. Hilton (H) Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H) Deputy S. Pitman (H) Deputy K.C. Lewis (S) Deputy of St. John Deputy M. Tadier (B) Deputy of St. Mary Deputy T.M. Pitman (H) Deputy T.A. Vallois (S) Deputy M.R. Higgins (H) Deputy A.K.F. Green (H) Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H) Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator P.F. Routier Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Senator T.J. Le Main Senator F.E. Cohen Senator J.L. Perchard Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator A.J.H. Maclean Senator F. du H. Le Gresley Connétable of St. Ouen Connétable of Trinity Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of St. Martin Connétable of St. John Connétable of St. Saviour Connétable of St. Clement Connétable of St. Peter Connétable of St. Mary Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S) Deputy of St. Martin Deputy J.B. Fox (H) Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

Deputy of Trinity

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B) Deputy A.E. Jeune (B) Deputy A.T. Dupré (C) Deputy E.J. Noel (L) Connétable of St. Lawrence Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)

THE STATES rejected paragraph (a)(ii) of the proposition of Senator Alan Breckon that the following items should be exempted or zero-rated for the purposes of Goods and Services Tax from 1st January 2012 – domestic energy and fuel.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 22	CONTRE: 29	ABSTAIN: 2
1 0 0 11. 22	CO111111111111111111111111111111111111	1110011111111

Senator B.E. Shenton	Senator T.A. Le Sueur	Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Senator A. Breckon	Senator P.F. Routier	Deputy of St. Mary
Senator B.I. Le Marquand	Senator P.F.C. Ozouf	
Connétable of St. Helier	Senator T.J. Le Main	
Connétable of St. Lawrence	Senator F.E. Cohen	
Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)	Senator J.L. Perchard	
Deputy J.A. Martin (H)	Senator S.C. Ferguson	
Deputy G.P. Southern (H)	Senator A.J.H. Maclean	
Deputy of Grouville	Senator F. du H. Le Gresley	
Deputy of St. Peter	Connétable of St. Ouen	
Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)	Connétable of Trinity	
Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H)	Connétable of Grouville	
Deputy S. Pitman (H)	Connétable of St. Brelade	
Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)	Connétable of St. Martin	
Deputy of St. John	Connétable of St. John	
Deputy M. Tadier (B)	Connétable of St. Saviour	
Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)	Connétable of St. Clement	
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)	Connétable of St. Peter	
Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)	Connétable of St. Mary	
Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)	Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)	
Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H)	Deputy of St. Martin	
Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)	Deputy J.B. Fox (H)	
	Deputy of St. Ouen	
	Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)	
	Deputy of Trinity	
	Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)	
	Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)	
	Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)	
	Deputy E.J. Noel (L)	

Following the rejection of paragraphs (a)(i) and (a)(ii), the Deputy Bailiff informed the Assembly that paragraph (b) of the proposition was deemed to have been withdrawn.

Changes in Presidency

THE STATES re-assembled after the lunch adjournment under the Presidency of the Deputy Bailiff.

Statements on a matter of official responsibility

(see Official Report/Hansard)

The Chairman of the Education and Home Affairs Scrutiny Panel made a statement regarding succession planning in the States of Jersey Police.

Adjournment

THE STATES adjourned, having agreed to reconvene on Thursday 19th May 2011 to consider the outstanding items of public business.

THE STATES rose at 5.30 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States